top of page

The 4 Elements 

The elements are the "root-principles" of astrology. Ancient Greeks believed that everything in the universe was made of four basic elements; fire, water, earth, and air.

Inspired by the alchemy symbolism, I've represented the four

 elements of matter according to their sensible qualities:

FIRE is hot and dry

AIR is hot and wet

WATER is cold and wet

EARTH is cold and dry 



Scanography is the art of taking pictures using a digital Scanner.

These elements are digital collages of natural objects like flowers, stones, feathers...and other beautiful magical terrestrial things.

  I’ve created the “Elements” thanks to two astrologers, teachers, researchers, and authors of one of the best contemporary books of traditional astrology “On the Heavenly Spheres”; they’re Helena and Luis. 

Helena collected feathers of Monk Parakeet; she was used to finding them on the sidewalk near Nova University in Lisbon. They’ve invited me to take scanner photos of their feathers collection and other beautiful gemstones and shells. Now they became “THE ELEMENTS ''.


The elements also represent the basic nature or natural temperament of a person. 

The signs of the zodiac can also be classified upon the basis of elements, as each element of astrology is associated with three different zodiac signs:

  • The three zodiac signs that share the element "water" include Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. Water is intuitive, sensitive, and emotional.

  • The element "Air" is shared by Gemini, Libra and Aquarius. Air is good, communicative, and intellectual with social relationships.

  • Earth is shared by Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. Earth means that the person is basically good, practical, and stable with money.

  • Aries, Leo and Sagittarius are the three zodiac signs that share the last element "fire". Fire means that the person is basically inspirational, future-oriented, positive

The elements are therefore not only the foundation of astrology and all occult sciences, but they comprise everything we can normally perceive and experience. It is true that the elements, if taken as purely material factors, symbolize the four states of matter described in modern physics: earth is solid; water liquid; air gaseous; and fire plasma or radiant ionized energy.

The Terrestrial

Aristotle divided his universe into "terrestrial spheres" which were "corruptible" and where humans lived, and moving but otherwise unchanging celestial spheres.

According to the principles of traditional astrology, the Earth was in the center of the Universe and made by the 4 elements.

They were illustrated in the Terrestrial Spheres and ordered according to their density.

From the center: earth, water, air, fire


The 5th Element

The fifth element: Spirit, is more rarefied than the four physical elements. It is a bridge between the physical and the spiritual. In cosmological models, the spirit is the transitory material between the physical and celestial realms. Within the microcosm, the spirit is the bridge between body and soul.


Did you collect the

"Elements" NFTs ?

  1. Click the name of your Element 

  2. Enter the password received after purchase 
  3. Download the printable Scanogaphs of your element!

  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Vimeo
  • Tumblr
  • Twitter
bottom of page